Crash Courses in Art History

Crash Courses in Art History is a series of classes that teach curious lifelong learners how to look at, engage with, and discuss art using the de Young's and Legion of Honor's permanent collections. Taught by museum curators and educators, visiting scholars, and artists, each course enables participants to understand the trajectory of artistic developments as they relate to historical events. In addition to lectures and discussions, classes make ample use of the museum galleries, creating a truly unique educational experience. Each course is four weeks long.

Crash Courses at the de Young

Picture This: Colonial American Art through Abstract Expressionism
October 2018
Wednesdays, 10:30 am–12:30 pm, Piazzoni Murals Room, de Young
(Class times and locations may change depending on enrollment.)

  • Wednesday, Oct 3, 2018
  • Wednesday, Oct 10, 2018
  • Wednesday, Oct 17, 2018
  • Wednesday, Oct 24, 2018
     

Native Art of the Americas
January 2019
Wednesdays, 10:30 am–12:30 pm, Piazzoni Murals Room, de Young
(Class times and locations may change depending on enrollment.)

  • Wednesday, Jan 9, 2019
  • Wednesday, Jan 16, 2019
  • Wednesday, Jan 23, 2019
  • Wednesday, Jan 30, 2019

Crash Courses at the Legion of Honor

Mummies to Monet: Western Art
March 2019
Wednesdays, 10:30 am–12:30 pm, Gunn Theater, Legion of Honor
(Class times and locations may change depending on enrollment.)

  • Wednesday, Mar 6, 2019
  • Wednesday, Mar 13, 2019
  • Wednesday, Mar 20, 2019
  • Wednesday, Mar 27, 2019

Ticket Information

The cost for each 4-session course is $200 members, $250 non-members. Registration begins Monday, August 6, 2018. 

To indicate your interest or for more information, please email publicprograms@famsf.org with the subject line "crash courses."