Chamber Music Series | Vinaccesi Ensemble

This event is expired.

Vinaccesi Ensemble

In the Chamber Music Series at the Legion of Honor, the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco present free concerts in collaboration with the San Francisco Friends of Chamber Music (SFFCM). Now in its fourth season, this popular series is held one Sunday each month from January to June.  Concerts are from noon to 2:00 p.m. in the Rodin Gallery (Gallery 10) and are free of charge after museum admission. The performing ensembles are either affiliates of SFFCM or recipients of grants from the Musical Grant Program, and together they represent the tremendous diversity of musical talent here in the Bay Area.

January, February, and March concerts feature music composed during the reign of Louis XIV, in conjunction with the special exhibition Royal Treasures from the Louvre: Louis XIV to Marie-Antoinette at the Legion of Honor through March 17, 2013. Performers have been asked to create programming that is inspired by the exhibition, thus bringing together the visual and performing arts in a public setting to stimulate the imagination and enhance the  experience of visitors at the museum.

March 17
The Vinaccesi Ensemble focuses on music of the Baroque era for solo voice (or voices) and continuo, especially (but not exclusively) that of the Italy and the Veneto, and of course of Italian composer Benedetto Vinaccesi (1666–1719), for whom the ensemble is named. Nanette McGuinness, soprano; Kindra Scharich, mezzo-soprano; Jonathan Smucker, tenor; Kirk Eichelberger, bass; Hallie Pridham, Viola da Gamba and Baroque cello; Susie Fong, harpsichord.

Upcoming dates for the Chamber Music Series in 2013 are April 21, May 1, and June 16.

Ensembles presented in previous seasons include: Hausmann Quartet, Duo Revirado, Classical Revolution, Bridge Chamber Virtuosi, Del Sol String Quartet , and Les Grâces, all in 2010; New Esterházy Quartet, Musical Arts Quintet, Revolution Quartet, the Rhythm Sisters, Voices of Music, San Francisco Guitar Quarte, and sfSound in 2011; and Eos Ensemble, Ariel Ensemble, Vocallective, Revolution Quartet, Musical Arts Quintet, Assisi Quartet, Gold Coast Chamber Players, and Left Coast Ensemble in 2012.

Ticket Information

Free after general museum admission. The concerts are presented in an informal setting. Audiences can stand or sit, come and go as they please, and enjoy all or part of the performance before moving on to visit the museum galleries. 

Contact Information

Gregory Stock